Home > Harbor News > Incumbents primarily unopposed in Grays Harbor

Incumbents primarily unopposed in Grays Harbor

May 14, 2013

Only 2 challengers have come forward so far in county elections.

Ron Figlar-Barnes from Elma has filed, challenging Chuck Caldwell for his seat as Port of Grays Harbor Commissioner. Figlar-Barnes currently serves as Environmental Coordinator for the Skokomish Tribal Nation.

John Pais, a Pastor and amateur radio operator from Elma filed for the Fire Commissioner position covering parts of Grays Harbor and Mason Counties. Current commissioner Michael Evans of Matlock has also refiled for his seat.

The majority of open election filings show the incumbent running unopposed for their position. This includes Grays Harbor County Sheriff Rick Scott, Mayors Gary Dent of McCleary and Charles Norskog of Oakville, and numerous seats throughout the county.

Michelle Barclay has filed for Aberdeen City Council Ward 6 position 11 against incumbent Denny Lawrence.

Residents have until end of business day on Friday to file with the Grays Harbor County Auditor’s Office in Montesano. May 20 is the last day for candidates to withdraw.

For a complete list of available offices, visit the Secretary of State website

Grays Harbor Offices Open for Election

Grays Harbor Candidate Filings


Categories: Harbor News
%d bloggers like this: