Home > Uncategorized > Election Results

Election Results

November 5, 2013

Over 38% of Grays Harbor voters turned out for last night’s general election.

Chuck Caldwell will retain his seat as Port of Grays Harbor Commissioner, leading Ron Figlar-Barnes 70-29% .

In Aberdeen, a surprising result shows John Erak earning the votes to retain his seat 53-46%, despite his recent death. Challenger Alan Richrod can be appointed to the position even if he does not receive the final majority.

Grays Harbor voters rejected Initiative 522 to put labels onto genetically engineered foods with 59%. Statewide, the measure is failing with 54% voting no.

Grays Harbor Transit will receive their funding of a 0.1% sales and use tax by an overwhelming majority of 70% voting yes.

Aberdeen City Councilman John Smith is currently losing his seat to Tawni Andrews with a 48-51% total. Council members Kathi Hoder, Alice Phelps, and Denny Lawrence are all retaining their seats currently.

In Hoquiam, Richard Pennant is leading over incumbent councilman John Wiedl, while Denise Anderson leads Brenda Carlstrom for her seat. Greg Grun is holding an 82% majority for his place on the Council.

McCleary Mayor Gary Dent will be keeping his seat, leading with over 50% of the vote over his 2 challengers.

All local propositions by fire departments throughout Grays Harbor are currently passing by a large majority.

Ballots are scheduled to be counted again on Friday at 3pm, and certified on November 26.


Categories: Uncategorized
%d bloggers like this: