Home > Harbor News, KXRO Outdoors > News Years Day clam dig approved

News Years Day clam dig approved

December 23, 2013

Clam diggers can officially ring in the New Year with an 8 day razor clam dig starting December 29 and running through January 5.

“Digging razor clams on New Year’s Day is a holiday tradition for a lot of Northwest families,” said Dan Ayres, WDFW shellfish manager. “Fortunately, the tides allowed us to keep that tradition alive this year.”

The dig will open on Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks, and Copalis, and feature 4 days on all beaches, and 3 days featuring Twin Harbors, Long Beach, and Mocrocks.

Additional digs are tentatively scheduled later in January and in February, but have not yet been approved.

For more information, see the WDFW Razor Clam webpage at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/current.html.

Tentative Dates

Jan. 15, Wednesday, 6:19 p.m.; -0.1 feet; Twin Harbors
Jan. 16, Thursday, 6:51 p.m.; -0.1 feet; Twin Harbors
Jan. 17, Friday, 7:22 p.m.; 0.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks
Jan. 18, Saturday, 7:53 p.m.; 0.2 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

Jan. 28, Tuesday, 4:36 p.m.; -0.7 feet; Twin Harbors
Jan. 29, Wednesday, 5:25 p.m.; -1.2 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach
Jan. 30, Thursday, 6:11 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks
Jan. 31, Friday, 6:55 p.m.; -1.4 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks
Feb. 1, Saturday, 7:38 p.m.; -1.0 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis
Feb. 2, Sunday, 8:20 p.m.; -0.5 feet; Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Mocrocks

razorclam_1

Categories: Harbor News, KXRO Outdoors
%d bloggers like this: